Home » Home
Next Class – Saturday, January 11.
– CHL/LTC wanted in San Marcos, Hays County, or Seguin, New Braunfels, Wimberley, Austin?
– You found it; best in Texas! – Get a gift certificate for Christmas. Click here or phone 512-749-0490.
– Take our class for as little as $59.00*.
– Many discounts are available! Click the Sign Up For Class menu tab now!
or you can now take it online with
I just wanted to thank you for a great time today! I learned a lot and enjoyed hearing your insight on things. Thank you; have a wonderful rest of your weekend! Amanda
…just one of the many actual email thank you messages we receive!
We offer many discounts including students. *Here you get the best CHL/LTC and firearms training available in Texas for as little as $59.00 if you bring a friend or are eligible for one of our discounts (check the Class Schedule page for other discounts).
To take Texas LTC class online anytime anywhere CLICK here: Texas LTC Online Click Here
Yes, now you can take the in-class part of your License to Carry online. We are associated with Texas’ first and best DPS approved official online license to carry class provider.
To enroll in CHL/LTC class CLICK HERE or phone Roger Stiefer at 512-749-0490. Phone Roger or email Roger@southtexaschl.net for a Personalized gift certificate.
ATTENTION! DPS has lowered their fee, it’s now $40.00 instead of $140.00.
Texas CHL is now called LTC as of January 1, 2016. Our classes from now on will include issues of open carry and concealed carry. If you already have your CHL you can now carry openly as well. You will be able to carry concealed or openly. Sign up now! Spots are going fast! Thank you for visiting our website. CLICK HERE to sign up now for your LTC or other hand gun or rifle training.
Please note that laser gun sights are not allowed for the shooting proficiency test.
Click the Blog tab to read about OPEN CARRY or scroll down below for a brief explanation.
Our Classes Include Everything. You don’t need anything but your gun, ammo, and safety gear. Don’t have a gun? Use one of ours for a small cleaning fee. How can it be better than that? First time handgun users will welcome our laid back style and easy curriculum. Don’t worry about the tests. Pay attention and you’ll pass ’em. Don’t worry about the shooting qualification. We’ll work with you to make sure you qualify. We do whatever it takes to help you get your LTC license. Your training is our job. Sign up now and have the peace of mind you need. Be safe and fail safe your 2nd amendment rights. Ensure your safety and the right to legally carry your gun.
Please click CONTACT or click the contact menu tab, or phone Roger Stiefer at 512-749-0490 for LTC or other firearm training information.
To view a video of the shooting proficiency qualification click this link: Turn up your speaker Shooting Proficiency Test
To go to Texas Department of Public Safety and get started with your LTC application process click here: Texas Department of Public Safety Regulatory Services Division LTC
To get the Texas Department of Public Safety paper copy application to be mailed in through the postal service (not needed if you apply online). Original Application Download
To submit your LTC certificate to DPS by US Postal Service mail: Mailing Address: Texas Department of Public Safety, Handgun Licensing Progeram – MSC 0245, PO Box 4087, Austin, TX 78773-0245
New Legislation 2015: Open Carry HB 910 has passed and has been signed into law by Governor Abbot. You will still need to take this class to become licensed to carry (whether openly or concealed). If you take the class now you will automatically be able to carry openly if you choose to when the new law takes effect January 1, 2015.
84th Texas Legislature: New laws for Concealed Handgun License (CHL) program
Summary of new laws passed in the 84th Regular Legislative Session that impact Concealed Handgun Licensing per Texas Department of Public Safety Regulatory Services Division Concealed Handgun Licensing Section.
House Bill 910 Effective: January 1, 2016
Caption: Relating to the authority of a person who is licensed to carry a handgun to openly carry a holstered handgun; creating criminal offense.
- Authorizes individuals to obtain a license to openly carry a handgun in the same places that allow the licensed carrying of a concealed handgun with some exceptions. (See “Exceptions” below for more information.)
- Unconcealed handguns, loaded or unloaded, must be carried in a shoulder or belt holster.
- Individuals who hold a valid CHL may continue to carry with valid existing license.
- A separate license will not be required to open carry. No additional fee will be required.
- Individuals currently licensed will not be required to attend additional training. Training curriculum for new applicants will be updated to reflect the new training requirements related to the use of restraint holsters and methods to ensure the secure carrying of openly carried handguns. The new curriculum will be required for all classes beginning January 1, 2016.
- The eligibility criteria to obtain a license to carry do not change.
- The department will be updating website, forms and training materials to reference License to Carry (LTC) instead of Concealed Handgun License (CHL).
- Changes to the laminated license are being developed and will be implemented at a later date.
- Private businesses may post signs to indicate entry on the property with a handgun by a license holder is forbidden.
- Penal Code Section 30.06 provides the language to be included on signs to indicate license holders are forbidden to carry concealed.
- Penal Code Section 30.07 provides the language to be included on signs to indicate license holders are forbidden to open carry.
- Posting of both signs is an indication by the business that license holders are forbidden to carry concealed or openly.
- Open carry is not permitted by a license holder regardless of whether the handgun is holstered:
- on the premises of an institution of higher education or private or independent institution of higher education
- on any public or private driveway, street, sidewalk or walkway, parking lot, parking garage or other parking area of an institution of higher education or private or independent institution of higher education
- by an individual who is acting as a personal protection officer under Chapter 1702, Occupations Code and is not wearing a uniform
Senate Bill 11 Effective: August 1, 2016
Caption: Relating to the carrying of handguns on the campuses of and certain other locations associated with institutions of higher education; providing a criminal penalty.
- Authorizes a license holder to carry a concealed handgun on or about the license holder’s person while the license holder is on the campus of an institution of higher education or private or independent institution of higher education in this state. Open carrying of handguns is still prohibited at these locations.
- Authorizes an institution of higher education or private or independent institution of higher education in this state to establish rules, regulation, or other provisions concerning the storage of handguns in dormitories or other residential facilities that are owned or leased and operated by the institution and located on the campus of the institution.
- Requires the president or other chief executive officer of an institution of higher education in this state to establish reasonable rules, regulations, or other provisions regarding the carrying of concealed handguns by license holders on the campus or on specific premises located on the campus.
- Authorizes posting of a sign under Penal Code Section 30.06 with respect to any portion of a premises on which license holders may not carry.
- The effective date of this law for a public junior college is August 1, 2017
Various Other Changes
House Bill 554 Effective: September 1, 2015
Caption: Relating to a defense to prosecution for the offense of possessing or carrying a weapon in or into the secured area of an airport.
- Amends the Penal Code to add a defense to prosecution if the actor possessed a handgun that he or she is licensed to carry at the security checkpoint of an airport, and exited the screening checkpoint for the secured area immediately upon completion of the required screening process and notification of possession of the handgun.
- Adds the actor cannot be arrested for the sole offense of possessing a handgun that he or she is licensed to carry, unless a police officer gives the actor the opportunity to leave the area and he or she does not immediately comply.
House Bill 1376 Effective; September 1, 2015
Caption: Relating to the application of certain concealed handgun license laws to community supervision and corrections department officers and juvenile probation officers; reducing a fee.
- Allows supervision officers and juvenile probation officers to establish proof of proficiency by a sworn statement that indicates the person demonstrated proficiency with a firearm instructor licensed by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement within the 12 month period preceding the application for the license to carry.
- This provision applies to supervision officers appointed or employed under Section 76.004, Government Code, to supervise defendants placed on community supervision.
- Reduces the fee for a license to carry to $25 for these individuals.
- Individuals applying under this special condition will be required to provide proof they are a supervision officer or juvenile probation officer.
- A new fee schedule will be posted on the department’s website.
House Bill 2604 Effective: September 1, 2015
Caption: Relating to a concealed handgun license application that is submitted by a peace officer or a member of the state military forces.
- Exempts applicants who are active peace officers from the requirement to submit fingerprints.
- Repeals the provisions requiring a sworn statement from the head of the employing law enforcement agency regarding the applicant’s conduct and proficiency.
- Regulatory Services Division (RSD) is in the process of updating the online application checklist. Until the online application is updated, peace officers may disregard the notations requiring fingerprints and the sworn statement from the head of their employing law enforcement agency.
- Updated application instructions for peace officers will be posted on the department’s website upon the effective date of this law.
House Bill 2739 Effective: September 1, 2015
Caption: Relating to the use of a concealed handgun license as valid proof of personal identification.
- Amends the Business and Commerce Code to require businesses to accept a concealed handgun license (CHL) as a valid form of personal identification for access to goods, services, or facilities.
- Does not affect laws requiring a driver license to operate a motor vehicle.
- Does not effect the existing requirement to present a driver license when renting a car.
- Does not affect the type of identification required under federal law to access airport premises or to pass through airport security.
House Bill 3710 Effective: September 1, 2015
Caption: Relating to a voluntary contribution to the fund for veterans’ assistance when applying for a concealed handgun license.
- Requires DPS to offer CHL applicants an opportunity to contribute money to the fund for veterans’ assistance when applying for an original or renewal CHL license.
- The applicant will determine the amount of contribution.
- RSD is in the process of updating the online application to accept contributions. More information will be posted here when the option to contribute is available.
House Bill 3747 Effective: June 16, 2015
Caption: Relating to the issuance of a concealed handgun license to certain retired judicial officers.
- Authorizes retired federal judges to receive a discounted CHL in the same manner as a retired state judge.
- The reduced fee is $25. A new fee schedule will be posted on the department’s website.
Senate Bill 273 Effective September 1, 2015
Caption: Relating to certain offenses relating to carrying concealed handguns on property owned or leased by a governmental entity; providing a civil penalty.
- Prohibits a state agency or political subdivision from posting signs stating where CHL holders are prohibited from carrying a concealed handgun on the premises, unless specifically prohibited by Texas Penal Code 46.03 and 46.035.
- Provides a civil penalty to a state agency or political subdivision if falsely notifying a CHL holder that entering or remaining on certain governmental premises, leased or owned, is illegal.
- Limits the scope of the governmental meeting prohibition by restricting it to the specific room or rooms in which the meeting is being held, and to public meetings for which notice is required under the Open Meetings Act.
- Provides an opportunity for the agency or subdivision to cure the violation within three business days of receipt of written notice from a citizen.
- Complaints of a violation are reported to the Attorney General Office.
- Provides the Attorney General must give notice to the agency or subdivision and provide an opportunity to cure the violation before a civil penalty is imposed.
- Previous 83rd Texas Legislature:House Bill 48
Effective: Sept. 1, 2013
Relating to the procedure where a person may renew a CHL. Eliminates the requirements for CHL holders to complete a renewal course, or demonstrate proficiency, to renew the license.
CHL holders will continue to have an option to submit the renewal application online.
CHL may be renewed for up to one year after expiration. There is no grace period for continuing to carry, once the CHL has expired.House Bill 333
Effective: Sept. 1, 2013
Relating to requiring notice of a hotel’s firearms policy and other guest policies; providing a criminal penalty.Requires hotels to clearly state their firearms policy on their website and in written guest policies.House Bill 485
Effective: Sept. 1, 2013
Relating to the amount of fees paid by certain peace officers, correctional officers, members of state military forces, and veterans of the armed forces for a license to carry a concealed handgun and to the issuance of such a license to certain peace officers and members of state military forces; authorizing a fee.Reduces the fee to $25 for certain peace officers. Full-time peace officers already pay a reduced fee. This bill expands the criteria by removing the requirement for the officer to be full-time. Peace officers who wish to pay the reduced fee must be employed by a law enforcement agency.
Reduces the fee for both an original and a renewal for veterans from $70 and $35 respectively, to $25.
Authorizes a reduced fee of $25 for correctional officers employed by the Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ). This new law authorizes a fee reduction only. TDCJ correctional officers may apply online under the special condition of “active peace officer,” but will be required to complete the required four (4) to six (6) hour CHL course. Additionally, these applicants must provide proof of current employment with TDCJ.
A new fee schedule is on the DPS websiteHouse Bill 698
Effective: Sept. 1, 2013
Relating to certain procedures for submitting legible and classifiable fingerprints with an application for a license to carry a concealed handgun.Directs DPS to establish a procedure for submission of fingerprints for CHL applicants who reside in a county with a population of 46,000 or less and does not reside within a 25-mile radius of a facility capable of processing the electronic fingerprints.House Bill 1009
Relating to the creation of a new category of law enforcement officer who shall be designated a school marshal, the training and appointment of certain employees of a school district or open-enrollment charter school as school marshals, and the rights, restrictions, limitations and responsibilities as school marshals; authorizing the imposition of a fee.This bill will be known as the “Protection of Children Act.”
The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) is the primary agency responsible for implementation.House Bill 1349
Effective: Jan. 1, 2014
Relating to the information that may be requested by DPS from a person applying for or renewing a CHL.CHL applicants will no longer be required to provide a Social Security Number as part of the application process.
Changes to the online application and forms are in progress.House Bill 3142
Relating to handguns used to demonstrate proficiency in handgun use for purposes of obtaining a CHL.The category of the handgun used for proficiency demonstration is no longer required, whether a semi-automatic or a revolver was used.
All CHLs will reflect “SA” as the category. Changes to the laminated license are being developed and will be implemented at a later date.House Bill 3370
Effective: Sept. 1, 2013
Relating to the authority of certain retired peace officers and former reserve law enforcement officers to carry certain firearms.This bill expands the criteria for certain retired peace officers to obtain a CHL, including a discounted fee. Applicants will need to provide a sworn statement from the head of the law enforcement agency where the applicant last served. The statement must meet the requirements set forth in Texas Government Code 411.1992(b).Senate Bill 164
Effective: Sept. 1, 2013
Relating to the issuance to veterans of specially marked licenses to carry a concealed handgun and specially marked personal identification certificates.Authorizes DPS to print “Veteran” on the laminated CHL
Changes to the laminated license have been made to allow for the “Veteran” designation. Licenses issued to individuals who have applied as a veteran now display “Veteran” on the face of the license.Senate Bill 299
Effective: Sept. 1, 2013
Relating to the intentional display of a handgun by a person licensed to carry a concealed handgun.This bill amends the Texas Penal Code by changing the language from “fail to conceal” to “unintentional display.”Senate Bill 864
Effective: Sept. 1, 2013
Relating to a handgun proficiency course that is taken to obtain or renew a CHL.Reduces the classroom training house for the CHL course to a minimum of four (4) hours and a maximum of six (6) hours. The time spent for proficiency demonstration will no longer be included in the classroom training.
Original applicants must attend the classroom instruction and complete the proficiency demonstration in person in Texas.
The course material must still cover the same four topics.
Detailed information for CHL Instructors, including a course outline, new student test and updated forms is on the CHL webpage.Senate Bill 1857
Effective: Sept. 1, 2013
Relating to the certification of certain qualified handgun instructors to conduct school safety training.DPS is currently developing rules and procedures to implement this bill. More information will be posted on the DPS website as it becomes available.Senate Bill 1907
Effective: Sept. 1, 2013
Relating to the transportation and storage of firearms and ammunition by CHL holders in private vehicles on the campuses of certain institutions of higher education.Prohibits a place of higher education (such as a college), from prohibiting a student from storing a handgun and / or ammunition in a vehicle on campus.***These documents are actual NRA Program documents owned and under copy write by The National Rifle Association. These are intended for usage by NRA members only and only for their expressed usage. South Texas CHL and Handgun Training is not authorized to modify or otherwise support them in any way.** While strong supporters of the NRA, South Texas CHL and Handgun Training is not affiliated with the NRA. South Texas CHL and Handgun Training instructors are NRA Certified instructors which means they are fully certified to teach the NRA courses offered. They are employed by South Texas CHL and Handgun Training, not the NRA.South Texas CHL and Handguns Training is now offering CHL, Concealed Handgun Classes, In the San Marcos area and Rockport, Texas. The next class is scheduled for Saturday, February 7, 10:00 a.m. at our private range, San Marcos, Texas. The classes fill up fast, so sign up now!South Texas CHL and Handgun Training will do everything within our power to ensure you will have your Texas Department of Public Safety certified CHL license. DPS has made the initial requirements in terms of the application process very easy. It’s now online. Let us know if you are having any problem signing up and we will guide you through it, but believe me, it’s not difficult. More good news, you no longer need the passport photos, they will use your current drivers license photo. Your CHL license will look basically just like your drivers license. We can help you with the application but unfortunately we can’t do it for you. DPS does not allow that. You’ll have to go the the Texas Department of Public Safety CHL information page to find out how to qualify and submit your payment to DPS. That fee is separate from ours. See the link to Texas Department of Public Safety Information to the left and just click on it. Once you’ve gone through the online process of acquiring your finger printing and other DPS required documentation we will do the rest for you. Our training courses include any assistance you may need in terms of gun safety and personal attention to ensure the most enjoyable experience you can have while acquiring your CHL license. Your CHL training will ensure you are qualified to shoot a handgun and know the legalities in doing so, but it won’t ensure your safety or that of others. Again we must toot the horn for the NRA. While many people realize the political activities of the NRA they don’t typically realize the great benefit in terms of safety and training provided by the NRA. If you’re not already a member of the NRA join now and enjoy the many benefits of membership. If you’d like to find out how you qualify in terms of marksmanship click the Winchester Marksmanship Qualification Program URL to the left and get first hand information on what is required. The qualification program is easy and on the honor system. South Texas CHL and Handgun Training wishes the best for you in the future and many years of shooting enjoyment.